About Us

The Northwest Indian Housing Association (NWIHA) consists of 38 Tribes, Tribal Housing Authorities and/or Tribally-Designated Housing Entities (TDHEs) serving 3 Pacific Northwest states (and one THA in Southern Alaska). There are also 25 Associate Members who provide services or products to its members.

NWIHA received its Determination Letter as a Section 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization in April, 2000 (EID #91-1348874). NWIHA is led by seven members of the Executive Committee, four of whom – serving as officers, are elected by the membership for two-year terms.

Voting Members are Tribal Housing Authorities, Tribally-Designated Housing Entities or Tribal housing departments located in Idaho, Oregon, Washington and Annette Island, Alaska.

Associate members are product and service providers, who serve the Voting Members of NWIHA. Their support and loyalty to Indian country is appreciated!

NWIHA’s Voting Members have elected liaisons and alternate liaisons, to work and collaborate with the following organizations:


Liaisons and alternate liaisons serve for a two-year term.

NWIHA holds its quarterly meetings in January, April and September.  Members meet together in caucus at the annual NAIHC-AMERIND joint convention (held in May or June, typically).

NWIHA began its Youth Scholarship Program in 2000, and has raised and granted over $196,000 in scholarship awards to qualifying youth.  The annual deadline for applications is March 31. The policy of NWIHA is to grant 100% of all donations to awardees. There are no administration fees or processing fees assessed.

Voting Members meet and deliberate on issues impacting housing in Indian country.  Formal resolutions are voted upon, reflecting positions or recommendations to federal or state government agencies or other organizations.

For further information, contact [email protected]